Bello sends 8 names to Assembly for screening, confirmation as SIEC members

Spread the love


Kogi State Governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello has forwarded eight names to the State House of Assembly for Screening and Clearance as members of the State Independent Electoral Commission (SIEC).

A statement by Onogwu Muhammed, his Chief Press Secretary in Lokoja gave the names of the nominee-members as:

1 – Lawal Shiru, Chairman Lokoja/Koto Federal Constituency

2 – Ozovehe John Enesi Secretary Adavi/Okehi Federal Constituency

3 – Adaji Ainoko, Member Dekina/Bassa Federal Constituency

4 – Musa Adama (Babakeke), Member Idah Federal Constituency

5 – Hon. Funsho Olorunfemi, Member Kabba/Bunu Federal Constituency

6 – Chogudo Yakubu Musa, Member Okene/Ogori Magongo Federal Constituency

7 – Hon. Labaran Yahaya Oyigebe, Member Ankpa Federal Constituency.

8 – Abdulkarim Jamiu, Member Ajaokuta Federal Constituency

Mohammed said Governor’s recommendation was based on Section 197, Sub-Section 1(b) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, (as amended).

He noted that the responsibility of SIEC was to conduct free, fair and credible Local Government polls in the state.

Duaglobalnews gathered that the development is part of preparations for the forthcoming local government election in the state

Visited 1 times, 1 visit(s) today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *