FG Appoints Chancellors, Board Chairmen of Universities, Polytechnics, Colleges of Education.

Spread the love

By Our Correspondent in Abuja.

The Federal government has appointed Pro- Chancellors and Board Chairmen of 111 Tertiary Institutions.

Among the list are Yusuf Ali, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), who is named as the Pro-Chancellor/Chairman, Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Ogun State.

Also, former Executive Secretary of NUC, Professor Emeritus Peter Okebukola as well as Dr. Abiodun Layonu have been named to head the University of Port Harcourt and University of Benin Governing Councils respectively.

In the same vein, Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), Wole Olanipekun was listed as the Chairman of the Governing Council of University of Lagos (UNILAG).

The quartet of Ali, Okebukola, Layokun, Olanipekun and others are Nigerians whose names were released by the Federal Government as the Pro – Chancellors/Chairmen and members of the Governing Boards of 111 Federal Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges of Education.

The boards of the federal tertiary institutions were dissolved eleven months ago by the National Universities Commission (NUC).

The list, which comprises technocrats, politicians and traditional rulers, is made up of 50 Federal Universities, 37 Polytechnics and 24 Colleges of Education.

Others on the list included former Bauchi Governor, Isa Yuguda, who will chair the Governing Council of the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN); former Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Yayale Ahmed, was appointed to lead the council of Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria, Kaduna State; former Zamfara Governor Mahmud Shinkafi will chair the council of University of Jos, Plateau State; former Ebonyi Governor Martin Elechi was named chairman of the Governing Council of Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State while former Adamawa Governor Bala James Ngilari was appointed chairman of the Governing Council of Federal University of Calabar, Cross River State.

Also, the government appointed former Borno Deputy Governor, Alhaji Ali Abubakar Jatau as chairman of the Governing Council of Federal University, Birnin Kebbi, Kebbi State; former Katsina Deputy GovernorTukur Jikamshi, as the chair of the Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State and former Senator from Anambra state, Joy Emordi will chair the council of Alvan Ikoku Federal University of Education, Owerri, Imo State.

Others are: former Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission, Prof Julius Okojie was appointed as Chairman of the governing council of Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa State; former Minister of Budget and Economic Planning, Udoma Udo Udoma was appointed as the Pro-Chancellor/Chairman of Bayero University, Kano, Kano State.

The immediate-past Executive Secretary of NUC, Adamu Rasheed, who resigned from office a few months into his second term in office, was also named to chair the governing council of the Federal University of Health Sciences, Otukpo, Benue State.

The details containing the names of the governing councils are contained in an advertorial signed by the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Didi Esther Walson-Jack.

According to the advertorial, the inauguration and retreat of the Council members would hold on May 30 and 31, 2024 at the NUC headquarters in Abuja.

“The inauguration and retreat for the Governing Councils will take place on Thursday, May 30 and Friday, May 31, 2024, at the National Universities Commission, 26 Aguiyi Ironsi Street, Maitama, Abuja. Both events will commence at 9:00am daily,” it said.

Some of the Chairmen of boards of Polytechnics include: HRH Arc. Ezeogo Ewa Elechi (Federal Polytechnic, Ugep, Cross River State); Salisu Kallamu (Federal Polytechnic, Oko, Anambra State); Ekem Okeke (Federal Polytechnic, Orogun, Delta State); Sir Paul C. Chukwuma (Federal Polytechnic Kabo, Kano State); Sen. Suleiman Hunkuyi (Federal Polytechnic, Daura, Katsina State); Otunba Tajudeen Abioye (Yaba College of Technology, Lagos State); Prof Erik Omogbai (Federal Polytechnic Bida, Niger State) among others.

For Colleges of Education, the immediate past Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, David Andrew Adejo heads the Federal College of Education (Technical), Akoka, Lagos State as Chairman while renowned labour leader, Comrade Isa Aremu pilots affairs as Chairman of the Governing Board of Federal College of Education (Tech) Keana, Nasarawa State. Also in the list is Sen. Binta Masi (Federal College of Education, Iditep, Akwa Ibom State); Prof. Isah Garba (Federal College of Education, Kontagora, Niger State), Sen. Emmanuel Anosike (Federal College of Education, Aha-Amufu, Enugu State) among others.

According to The Nation’s report, the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) had threatened to embark on strike if the government failed to reconstitute the Governing Councils of Universities within two weeks.

The National Universities Commission (NCC) on June 22, 2023 announced the dissolution of Governing Councils of all federal universities and boards of other agencies and parastatals in the country.

The NUC directive was based on a similar one three days earlier by President Bola Tinubu ordering the dissolution of the boards of all government parastatals, agencies and companies.
Edited by Dawud Ahmed.

Visited 143 times, 1 visit(s) today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *