Re-run poll : 2 Nasarawa lawmakers sworn in, speaker stresses unity of members.

Spread the love

By David Okpashi

LAFIA —The Speaker, Nasarawa State House of Assembly, Rt.Hon. Danladi Jatau on Monday, sworn in two members of the House who won the Feb.3, 2024 re-run election in the state

The two members are:Mohammed Adamu Omadefu (APC-Keana) and Hon. Musa Ibrahim Abubakar (NNPP-Doma South).
The speaker,who sworn in the two members during the House proceedings in Lafia, congratulated them for retaining their seats, and urged them to live above board while discharging their duties.

The Speaker, who called on the people of their constituencies to support the two members to succeed, equally called for sustained unity among members for the overall peace of the House and the State.

ALSO READ:  2023 Gov . poll: Senator Aidoko leads Kogi East opposition party members to APC .

” We sincerely thank God for our unity. In this House, we are one family, irrespective of our affiliations. Let’s continue to work together, live as one family for the overall development of this House and the State at large,” he said.
Responding, Hon. Musa Ibrahim Abubakar and Hon. Muhammed Adamu Omadefu appreciated God and their people for returning them to the House.

They also appreciated the Speaker for his purposeful leadership and other members for their support and assured the Speaker of their support to succeed.

They assured the people of their constituencies of their readiness to continue to provide more dividends of democracy to them.

ALSO READ:  Kogi Guber: Thousands troop out in Kogi West for Ododo, APC, say 'no vacancy for Opposition'.

Our Correspondent recalls that on 28th of November, 2023, an Appeal court sitting in Abuja declared the election of Keana and Doma south constituencies inconclusive,nullified the elections of the two lawmakers.

The court ordered for re-run election in one polling unit of Doma South Constituency and 5 in Agaza ward of Keana respectively.

The Reporters also recalls that Independent National Electoral Commission,on February 3, 2024, conducted a re-run elections in Keana and Doma local governments respectively.
Mohammed Adamu Omadefu of All Progressives Congress, APC, and Musa Ibrahim Abubakar of New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) won the election and retained their seats.
Edited by Dawud Ahmed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Now ButtonCall Us Now!